Sigh.

It’s officially been about 10 months since I’ve gone back natural. Some people refer to it as a state to which we return…

But, I did not return to this natural state for any deep philosophical purpose, nothing about reclaiming black identity or remembering my roots or anything like that. It was simply because I had no idea what else to do with my hair. I was at a cross roads and I was not sure what else to do with it.

I was tired of relaxing it, and protective styles can get really expensive, but even then what happens after I remove the braids or whatever it may be… so in December 2015 I asked my mother to accompany me to the barber… and I shaved my head – to use naturalista terminology : I big chopped.

I was a little scared of how it would look if I took off everything, so I left some on top. I later came to realise that they call that a tapered cut. It took some getting used to, but I think I liked it. My mother who has recently shaved her head (AGAIN) gave me some tips and advised me on products I needed for those first few months.

Cutting my hair, going back to this natural state of curly, nappy existence has taught me a lot about myself. It’s almost like a re-birth. This is why I thought it necessary to create a separate blog to chronicle this hair journey – this [LITERAL] labour of love.

Join me as I share this journey.

Leave a Reply

